Jude law’s Revelation…

I have seen The Time Traveler’s Wife at least 7 or 8 times. And The Notebook has got at least 8 or 9 tallies in my diary of manly classics that have enhanced my life. However, I know I’ve seen The Holiday at least 10 times…”Two women troubled with guy-problems swap homes in each other’s countries, where they each meet a local guy and fall in love.” says imbd.com.

I wish I could say I’ve seen it that many times on my own account, without my wife sitting next to me feasting her eyes on the drama and romance. But the chance of me popping this in while home alone is about as likely as the chance that Jude Law has nothing to do with the frequency she watches this film…

Last year at our despised Sundance Film Festival some tourists couldn’t find Jude, and on the last night of their trip they stumbled across me.  They said “you’ll do, can we get our picture taken with you?” I obliged, and ever since my wife has used this to excuse her fancy with the incredibly sexy Mr. Law. When she tells me I’m her Jude and stares into my eyes to make me believe, I know she’s really just practicing her iridology. I can think of one movie that is a favorite of both Logan and I. Heck, even my parents thought it was decent! Dad’s famous line came out during this movie: “Powerful!”  It’s a rare combination to have all these elements align, especially because  some critics would label it as “Sci-Fi.”

Yeah, my folks are pretty hip. They’re on the up and up now that they’ve defeated ALL of their kids at a game of Cranium, which requires a broad knowledge of culture. This is quite the feat considering that neither of them had the slightest clue on how to hum the song “Kung-Fu Fighting.” Now, about that movie.

WARNING: (synopsis contains spoiler) A Utopian facility is filled with people who don’t realize they are simply “harvestable beings” and are being kept as replacement parts for wealthy people who can afford a clone. A man and woman discover the truth, and go on the run. They fall in love, find his “owner”, set the others free, and live happily ever after. Phenomenal, really. I cry every time I see all those clones set free.

WARNING: (For all pastors and ministers) You may be tempted to show this trailer during your sermon because of the obvious “We’re all unknowingly stuck on this planet as Satan’s captives” theme, but we advise against doing so.

My wife doesn’t even try to pull the whole “Jude Law is you” blindfold on me for this one, she openly admits Ewan McGregor is a great looking guy. And she likes that in the movie his moves are fast as lightning. Almost frightening.

But she still thinks I have more gumption than he does. Which is important these days, because getting rid of a brain tumor seems to be harder on the body than growing one.  It’s accompanied by the weirdest and scariest neurological abnormalities: both mental and physical.   And there is nothing more frightening than your own mind. My pent-up fear of seizures released itself last week in full-blown panic attack. Complete with difficulty breathing, intense shaking, and plenty of Ativan, herbal teas, and Calms Forte to try and slow it down. It’s crazy how an emotion like fear can bring on physical reactions. And in so many people.

Ten percent of all Americans were using antidepressants in 2005. Half of them use it for nerve pain, fatigue, sleep difficulties or other problems, the study said. I don’t blame them. Logan and I have had an extra helping of depressing evenings these last few weeks. Which is probably why we aren’t watching as many of these great movies anymore.Do you ever notice how depressed you feel after finishing a movie? We saw Salt a few weekends back. It has a great plot about a CIA agent who is actually a Russian spy. We both enjoyed the movie, but just felt kind of stupid and empty afterward. It’s like you want there to be more, or you want your life to be as exciting, romantic, or fulfilling  as the characters’ in the movie.

If you don’t feel this way, maybe your life needs a bit of suckiness. A bit more hardship or pain so you can appreciate the lack of it. Just a little more depression to let reality kick in.  There isn’t a day that goes by that I don’t long for Him to wipe every tear from [my] eyes. No more death, mourning, crying, or pain, for the old order of things has passed away -Revelation 21:4. I long for a normal head and neurological state. And I long for my friends, family, and anyone reading this to let the reality of verse 8 sink in to their own lives. It groups the unbelievers and idolators right alongside the murderers in the lake of fire.

Maybe the suckiness in our lives is what prompts my wife and I to enjoy more evenings watching  the Unlocking Revelation.com video series instead of idolizing the TV. Could be the hope this book of the bible reveals. The joy of envisioning a life free of worry, seizures, surgery, pain, and brain tumors.

A few years ago I was floating around in a Utopian facility. I needed to wake up like George Clooney did when he was up in the air: “Would you like a cancer? A what?  A can, sir. Actually, yes I would.”A cancer would probably help us all overcome the lack of suckiness that causes unbelief and idolatry.

Lands and goods and wordly occupations engross the mind, and things of eternal interest hardly receive a passing notice…” -Ellen White, The Great Controversy.

WARNING: (for my wife, Logan) Maybe when Revelation is fulfilled, life turns 180 degrees, and there’s no more tears, mourning, or pain; maybe, just maybe, I’ll actually come out a clone of Jude Law!

 

13 Responses to “Jude law’s Revelation…”

  1. allison harper Says:

    WOW!!! Thank you for a great blog!! Really excellent writing, Daniel. Your conclusions about the emptiness of this world couldn’t be better expressed. I’m so ready for Jesus to come!Yes, He makes this life bearable and fulfilling, but how much better will be the real world of eternity. love, Mom

  2. logan Harper Says:

    great blog babe….hit it right on the money. love u

  3. Murrell Tull Says:

    Way to go mom and dad on the “cranium” victory!!! I knew I had a hip pastor all along. Thanks Daniel for another great blog…I always look forward to your updates and your inspiring well written words….have you been writing your dads sermons lately…they’be been really good? 🙂

  4. Tim Ryder Says:

    Well said sir, Satan has done a masterful job of creating a Matrix like world all around us, and so many of us don’t even realize it, and worse yet just like in the matrix some are made aware of the lie and still prefer the fake world to the truth!

    I praise God for all He is teaching you, and all that you are teaching us as we read your inspired words.

    Praying for you always,
    Tim

  5. Daniel..I am so inspired by your words!

  6. MarriageFlavors Says:

    Ha! You kind of do look like Jude! Thanks for sharing. I enjoy reading your blogs.

  7. Frances McCarter Says:

    Have you heard of the heat surgery for tumors? It was on ‘The Doctors’ last wk. It was really interesting. It comes on ABC at 10A where I live in TN.

Leave a comment