A five letter word…

It’s what we live by….we are born with the ability yet we choose whether or not we develop it. It’s a choice not an instinct, yet we think it should just come naturally and we get angry when it doesn’t. It’s more mature in our childhood, yet as we age we lose it. And no matter how hard we try to obtain it, too many things block our view and then we find ourselves back at the beginning…the opposite of the goal.

If you haven’t figured out what “it” is…let me help… It’s what Noah exercised when he and his family sat in a 450 foot-long boat on dry land for seven days before a drop of rain came down. While EVERYONE else laughed and scoffed at him for wasting his time and for following instructions from a “God” he couldn’t even see.

It’s what Abraham exercised on the three-day trek up Mount Moriah with Isaac, his son, who he had not yet told why they were making the trip.

It’s what Job repeatedly exercised while tragedy upon tragedy was thrown at him…including a threat to his own life.

And it’s what the hundreds upon hundreds of New Testament believers had when they scurried through the crowds just to get close to the man they knew would heal them.

It’s what Stephen had when the first, second and third stones were thrown and he saw death’s door.

And it’s what Jesus had on the cross…the moment before He said

Father it is finished.

Have you figured “it” out? It’s faith…the opposite of doubt.

You see even Jesus, at that point in His journey, on the cross, did not know whether or not He would see His Father again. A curtain had temporarily separated them. It was all part of the plan. Yet His faith surpassed ALL doubt.

“Now faith is being sure of what we hope for, and certain of what we cannot see.” ~ Hebrews 11:1

Yet what do we do? We run around in our life upset, angry and fretting because “our” plan has gone haywire and we just don’t know what to do. We say we believe but then forget all about the “God’s in control” part. Logan and I often find ourselves in that position. I look at myself and others that surround me and think “oh you of little faith” ~Luke 12:28

What in the world do we know?…not much. I love the inspired quote…

” God never leads His children otherwise than they would choose to be led, if they could see the end from the beginning and discern the glory of the purpose which they are fulfilling as co-workers with Him.” ~ Ministry of Healing  p.479

Fighting cancer part-time instead of full-time allowed me the creativity to write about some wacky, 24-yr. old brain stuff that doesn’t seem so interesting now…so I hope you do not mind if this is a little heavy for some. I feel the need to be serious as I feel we are all blindsided by the world. So just back-read for some more comical, better written material.

Fortunately Christ doesn’t seem to care about how well written our material is, He seems to care more about us doing our best, which is what I’m trying to do right now…That, combined with faith, seems to be what James talked so much about:

“What good is it my brothers , if a man claims to have faith but has no deeds? Can such faith save him?” ~ James 2:14

It is my challenge to you to fight the good fight of faith. Don’t ever give up! Quit looking at the “now” and look at what is to come. Even though you may feel that you have lost a few battles here and there, you will NEVER lose the war if you put your faith in Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior. Oh if we could just grasp and hold on to that  faith of a child.

47 Responses to “A five letter word…”

  1. Travis Moore Says:

    Incredible.

  2. Carol Boehm Says:

    . . . and it’s what Daniel Harper shows the rest of us on a daily basis! I believe, I believe . . oh Lord help my unbelief!!!

  3. Vivian Raitz Says:

    What a ministry Jeff had right up to his death! No doubt he impacted on so many lives!

    My love and heartfelt prayers go out to you–his family and friends.

    God understands what it’s like to lose a Loved One! He’s crying with us at this time.

    vivian raitz

    • Mrs. Raitz! Beautiful words. I miss you. I didn’t know Daniel but started reading his blogs through a couple of friends up here in Alaska. I am surprised to see your reply here; that you knew Daniel and his family also. Please contact me via FB. Praying for your pain in this loss and for Daniel’s family as well. Love, Renee’ King

  4. Nancy Gerard Says:

    Amazing! What an amazing young man Daniel was and how he showed us what it means to stay strong and true through tough times. Logan was by his side through this most difficult journey and demonstrated grace and strength and loyalty to Daniel through the good times and bad – true to her wedding vows – “in sickness and in health.”

    Thank you both for the powerful witness you have been in this incredibly challenging journey!

    I look forward to reuniting with Daniel, Logan, and all their family members on that day when Christ says to him, “Well done, good and faithful servant!”

  5. Don Keele Jr Says:

    What an incredible witness both Logan and Daniel have been. Thanks to both of you for showing me what faith is under fire. Love to the both of you.
    Pastor Don

  6. Daniel, I cannot wait to see you again in heaven. I imagine that you will be found right next to Jesus asking him lots of questions and listening intently as he tells stories. You have been such an inspiration and touched so many in your life. Logan, we are praying for you. Keep the faith that you and Daniel shared.

  7. Gary Moore Says:

    Logan and Daniel,

    You were both an inspiration to me as I read Daniel’s blog and watched from afar as you tenderly loved him. Daniel had a real talent for writing and usually made me smile and tear up with each blog posting. I will miss his posts but I know for a surety where he is headed and I know his seizures and pain and nausea are gone. Logan the next time you see Daniel he will be smiling and healthy and whole and the two of you can fly off to surf some special waves in the New Earth and inhabit the home Jesus has made for you. I am sad he is gone but I am glad his trial here is over. Daniel lived a glorius and meaningful life.

  8. By far some of the most impactful stuff I have ever read has been on this blog. Thank you for sharing your struggle and your resulting faith with so many. Daniel’s legacy will continue on into eternity as will Logan’s testimony. The Harper clan will dominate my prayer list for some time…keep the faith Logan and continue to carry the flame of faith that you and Danial lit together.

  9. Sandi Bakland Says:

    Dear Logan, Our family’s thoughts and prayers are with you and the whole Harper family as well. The witness that you and Daniel have given over that last few years has been such an unspeakable blessing to me and countless others, I am sure. How I long for that day when “all tears shall be wiped away” and we can be reunited with our loved ones who sleep in Jesus! In the meantime I pray you are comforted and strengthened as you face the days between.
    Love and prayers, The Baklands
    Lars, Sandi, Brianne and Corey

  10. Kristi Smith Says:

    Dear Harpers,
    While I have met a couple members of your family, I never met Daniel. I mourn with you today and pray for th Spirit to comfort you. But I praise Jesus for Daniel’s life and legacy. I guess what he did was sacrifice his life for Jesus, as so many Bible Greats did! What faith! His experience and the way he shared it had undoubtedly brought many to Christ and/or a deeper understand of him. Daniel realized what so many of us forget: this is not the life that counts. I applaud his parents for raising a child who was willing to share his life and experiences to bring others to Christ, which he has certainly done. May God richly bless and comfort you, and may we all follow Daniel’s example and have peace in the midst of storms.

  11. Jennifer Coble Says:

    I didn’t know Daniel “really”…only through his “blog”. I will miss him sharing “his journey of faith” and his many “God Given Tallants” with those of us who will continue to marvel at what an amazing young man he was and “his story” that will always be with us! No more pain…for him! Our love and prayers are with the “Harper Family” today and in the days ahead…it won’t be long…it can’t be long!

  12. Se you again in a few years buddy! I can’t wait. We will have to board down one of Heaven’s endless snowy peaks! I will make sure that your faith and love of God is shared with as many people as I can. You were, are and will be an inspiration to many!

  13. Rachel Keele Says:

    A life well lived and, praise God, only paused for now. I’m glad that I’ll have an eternity to get to know Daniel better. Even so Lord Jesus, quickly come.

  14. Linda Prosser Says:

    I too did not know Daniel personnally,but from just reading his blog it gave me great comfort.I too lost a 24 yearold son,and I know how much you hurt now,but rejoice in knowing we will see them again one day..God bless you all…Linda Prosser

  15. Terri Borg Says:

    Daniel & Logan you are a blessing to all those who know you and the struggles you have faced with such continued faith. I know how excited Daniel was when the More About Jesus series came through our church. He loved the idea that Christ wanted to be his friend. Have faith in knowing that the next time Daniel opens his eyes his friend will be smiling back at him, welcoming him and saying job well done. It takes great faith to believe you can be healed. It takes even greater faith not to be healed!

  16. Cathi Rogers Says:

    Behold, I tell you a mystery: “We shall not all sleep, “but we shall all be changed—-In a moment, in the twinkling of an eye, at the last trumpet. “For the trumpet will sound, and the dead will be raised incorruptible, and we shall be changed. For this corruptible has put on incorruptible, and this mortal has put on immortality, then shall be brought to pass the saying that is written: “Death is swallowed up in victory”. We who are left behind mourn our loss of Daniel. But, we know God’s ways are higher than our ways. So, we live by faith, believing one day we shall see clearly what we can only view now as though we are looking through a dark glass. Grave where is your victory? Death where is your sting? Hosea 13:14 “I will ransom them from the power of the grave; I will redeem them from death. Where, O death, are your plagues? Where, O grave, is your destruction? Even so, come Lord Jesus.

  17. Dear Logan, Our prayers are with you today. I too know what it is like to watch a loved one suffer through illness and pain and finally to fall asleep in Jesus. I with you look forward to the day when Daniel and all our loved ones will awake at the sound of the trumpet call of Jesus,returning with all his angels to take us home! Courage and strength to you always. Your faith will never lead you wrong. Sincerely, sorry for you loss, Kathy Mills (mother of Jeremy, Alica and Amy)

  18. I admired the whole Harper family when I was on the GCA Campus teaching at Coble. I didn’t know their daughter, but the 3 boys all came through Coble – and they were all such really “neat guys” – personable, smart, creative, funny. The only one I had the privilege to have in my classroom was Jonathan – for third grade.

    I have followed Daniel’s blog and have been blessed so much by it. My heart goes out to those whose struggle is ongoing – those he left behind. Ben and I lost a son, Benjamin, and the pain and loss are always there. But I KNOW Benjamin was a Christian and I will see him again in heaven. I imagine him flying through the air, carefree, on snow skis!!

    Daniel had so many talents and interests. He will pursue them with joy forever – along with the tremendous joy of seeing his Saviour face-to-face and of seeing the “why” of all that happened in this ole earth. That is what will anchor those who are left. The joy to come – the great reunion – the end of sin, suffering, and death.

    Daniel fought an unbelievable fight – he told of it in his blogs. When I read the news of his death just minutes ago tears began to flow and I really couldn’t believe that he is gone. My first reaction was : “No, I really thought he was going to beat this!”

    As I was told by a good friend about Benjamin, so for Daniel: “His name is engraved in the hands of Jesus. His angel guards his resting place waiting to call him forth at the last trumpet to everlasting life.” Amen – even so come quickly, Lord Jesus.

  19. Logan, Michelle and I love you and are praying for you. I’m so thankful for Daniel’s friendship over the years, he’s my hero :) I look forward to the day when this world will have no more pain and suffering. I won’t be able to make it to the funeral because we are expecting our baby to come any day now, but Levi and Barron will bring our hugs and love.

    -GP and Michelle

  20. What encouraging words from complete trust in God! Daniel was such a blessing to us when he sang at the memorial of our son. Now we uphold the Harper familly in thought and prayer in their loss.

  21. Debbie Cox Says:

    Thank you for sharing this beautiful testimony and I thank God for Daniel’s faith! He finished his course victoriously! Prayers for those who loved and knew him. Keep the faith!

  22. Loren King Says:

    When I think of Daniel so many emotions flow.

    Laughed at his crazy loud firetruck horn he brought to the GCA/CA basketball game and blared incessantly after we beat CA with a last second shot at the buzzer.

    Watched with concern and disbelief as he repeatedly sacrificed his body at the altar of the mountain board jump down his parents driveway.

    Impressed with his role and his voice playing the lowly dedicated servant in “Bow the Knee”.

    Grateful for the encouragement and inspiration his guitar lessons gave to Keith.

    Amazed at his determination when he decided to do something…anything…everything. He could sell veal to a vegan.

    Devastated…………………to tell Allison the news

    Humored….angered….encouraged….hopeful…..heartbroken….tearful….and mostly….INSPIRED as I read Daniel’s, Logan’s, and the entire Harper family’s courageous journey here. You are all my HERO. And so very THANKFUL the journey only BEGINS here. I am coming to your mansion Daniel and you’re going to teach me to mountain board….

  23. Dear Harpers,
    Our thoughts and prayers are with you. Daniel touched so many with his ministry. You all have been such a wonderful representative of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. You have showed a deep peace and spiritual maturity that only comes from years spent on your knees. The time can’t be long when Christ will come again and reunite you with your son and Logan with her husband. May God give you strength and peace.
    Joseph and Debbie Paulson

  24. Michelle Chase Says:

    We are so sad to know that Daniel is no longer with his family. I can’t imagine how it must hurt. He seemed at peace with God and even told all of us in his blog how strong his faith was even when faced with death. May Jesus come very soon and reunite this Christian family once again. Prayers for all of you.

  25. Cathi Rogers Says:

    Daniel fought the good fight, he kept the faith. Now for him there is a crown of righteousness awaiting, which our Lord himself will reward to him. Daniel will never know another day, another minute of pain. Only heaven will reveal what a blessing he was to so many. His talent was used to reach others, even in the midst of his pain. Now, we who are left behind (for a brief time) mourn the loss of this brilliant and loving young man. Still, we know we are to rejoice, for our Lord’s ways are higher, better than our own. He is mighty and omniscient. He moves on behalf of his children with great love and tenderness. One day soon, Daniel will open his eyes at the sound of Jesus calling to him to awaken, along with others we have lost along this journey of life. Then shall we be with our Lord forever more. There will be great rejoicing on that magnificient day. Until then may the Lord comfort and renew Logan and all of the Harper family, who are such a blessing to so many. Even so , Come Lord Jesus!

  26. Carolyn Hullquist Says:

    I also have tears in my eyes. Logan, I’m so sorry for your loss. I never got to know Daniel except by his words of wisdom beyond his years. I’ve known you all your life, so I just want you to know you’ll be in our prayers.

  27. Olga & John McCoy Says:

    You are in my prayers, Harper family.

  28. so sorry to hear this news. Had the privilege of working with Daniel at camp several years back. He will be missed! but we will see him again in Heaven! my prayers are with you, his family.

  29. Julie Cook Says:

    Logan, I’m sorry that I never got a chance to meet Daniel. I’m praying for you and your family today. I was brought to tears by this blog post.

  30. Susie Rabago Says:

    so inspiring!!! God bless him and his family!

  31. Charlayne Says:

    I too, have been on a health journey…nowhere near the challenges that Daniel and Logan faced. All I can say is that his wisdom has been far beyond his years, a special gift from God like Solomon’s. He has been such a blessing to me….to be willing to share from the deepest part of his soul; the weakest.
    1 Corinthians 1:25 “For the foolishness of God is wiser than man’s wisdom, and the weakness of God is stronger than man’s strength”…vs 27 “God chose the weak things of the world to shame the strong…” His weak body, gave him a strong mind and a HUGE witness!

  32. Bryan Cheever MD Says:

    in the short time I cared for Daniel, he never asked “why?”. I will remember him most being appreciative and thankful for the littlest things done for him. In fact, on the morning of the day he passed, I went in to see him and he had just been “sick” and was now resting with his eyes closed. I touched his shoulder and asked if he had pain he said “not much, maybe a little”. But, when asked to rate it “1-10″, he said “8 or 9″. Like Christ, he felt that the physical pain was “not much” compared to his faith in eternal things. Daniel’s last words as I left the room were “thank-you Dr Cheever”. Even though I had done “not much” . No! it should be “thank-you ” Daniel, from all of us.You will be missed , Til “the last trumpet sounds and we , which are alive will be caught-up together with you to meet the Lord at his coming”

  33. Bryan Cheever MD Says:

    I appreciate reading the post. Thoughts and prayers with the family

  34. Deanna Carter Says:

    Logan, I have started this several times and couldn’t seem to find the right words to express my true admiration for you and Daniel! It was so wonderful to see such a young couple so much in love, so decicated to Our Lord and Savior Jesus the Christ and to eachother. Logan, you have been so blessed to have had Daniel even if it was such a short time. A man who professes his love for you and the Lord is a rarity. I know you will cherish your times and memories of him. Dear Heart know that Jesus is right beside you, walking and holding you and your heart all the way.

    We back here at KW are all praying for you and your families!

    Love In his precious name, Deanna Carter

  35. Colleen Olson Gentry Says:

    Logan, I am so sorry to hear this news. But, what an inspiration you two are. You supported him in every way possible and your love for each other was without question. I hope you can find peace, you are an amazing girl.

  36. What touching words to have in your heart and to have the talent to express them. God surely blessed us with Daniel and Daniel with the faith and courage to tread these waters with such courage. Logan, I truly understand widowhood as a young woman. While it is never easy to take our hands off our our husbands and say,” God, he is yours and please do not let him suffer anymore, for my selfish ways,” it is the mature Christian attitude. Please know that GOD WILL NOT forsake you in the days ahead. He never said they would be easy, but he does deliver the strength we need to get to the point when we meet our FIRST LOVE in heaven again. May God give you the strength that you need in the days ahead.
    Love,
    Julie

  37. Just WOW. I find Daniel’s wisdom and profound faith both humbling and inspiring. What a brave and beautiful disciple! My heart breaks for Allison, Greg, Logan and the rest of his family. So saddened he was taken at such a young age, but his courage, faith and unyeilding optimism will be his legacy. Love to Daniel and prayers to his family. PEACE

  38. Daniel is such an inspiration to me…to the very end he didn’t give up the fight..he fought with great faith…he was looking at what was to come… having faith in the Lord. He has given me determination to think positive and lay all my worries on the LORD. He was such a special man that will live on in the hearts of many…till we are all together again one day! RIP Daniel with our loving father……

  39. ruth bonney Says:

    how can I find his blogg to read?

  40. ruth bonney Says:

    tell me, please, how I can read his blogg remarks. I am not highly computer savy. thanks

  41. sharlene carman Says:

    God, please give us who remain the perspective of Daniel Harper.

  42. Harper family, 1st want to thank Mr & Mrs Harper for raising such a man of God! I need to come & take some lessons….no really I’m serious. 2nd to Logan, how faithful you were to your vows…beautiful. 3rd but maybe should have been 1st I am lifting you all up in prayer constantly…..I cannot even begin to understand what you are experiencing. I can say that hands down that was THE MOST uplifting & beautiful celebration of life. I never had the chance to meet Daniel on this earth {I am a friend of Melissa’s} but he has stirred my heart in a way I will only be able to share with him in Heaven! I want to leave a legacy that I loved & served my God with every breath in my body!!….just as your Daniel did! I told Melissa after the funeral that I’ve prayed since my girls where young that they would grow up to think & live the coolest thing they ever do is serving God!! How “COOL” Daniel made serving God look!!….that life can be blast all the while serving Him!!! I am SO sorry you had to say good bye…..I pray Heaven will come soon! Very soon! Much love & thoughts & prayers!! Kera Hughes

  43. Frances McCarter Says:

    I never met Daniel, but love him as if were a close friend. My heart goes out to Logan and the family. I recently lost a life-long friend to cancer. But to lose a son or husband would be so hard. But the pain and suffering is gone for Daniel. God has each of you in His arms. What a blessing!
    Daniel often said that he felt he wouldn’t live long enough to fulfill what he felt God wanted him to do. But yes, he lived Christ in every way. He fulfilled God’s plan.
    Until Christ returns. God bless each of you. See you in Heaven.

  44. Pastor Ron Cook (Julie Cook's Dad)GCA Chaplain&Bible teacher Says:

    I will read this in Church today. What an inspiration!! I look forward to the time when we can meet at the feet of Jesus!!
    I know that Daniel’s words will inspire many in my Church who are struggling with physical illness and difficulties with their faith

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 75 other followers

