Faith to Find a Balance…

So I was planning on (starting/finishing soon after) this post with this, but fortunately I got bit with some  fresh perspective  this morning and cannot continue what I had written after reading some quotes from one of my favorite books, Ministry of Healing: allow me to share one of these quotes:

“Let the invalid, instead of constantly requiring sympathy, seek to impart it. Let the burden of your own weakness and sorrow and pain be cast upon the compassionate Saviour. Open your heart to His love, and let it flow to others. Remember that all have trials hard to bear, temptations hard to resist, and you may do something to lighten these burdens…~257

I’ve also heard it said it better to not mention your sorrows, sufferings, or trials, because dwelling on them makes them worse and seems to allow the tempter to utilize them more effectively.

However, growing up reading miracle stories about people walking 20 miles through the jungle at night to get to a bible study would not have had the same impact on me if I had not known about all the snakes, tigers, and foes God kept from the traveler.

And so it is with my blog. I struggle with the balance. How much do I share on how tough life really is right now without giving in to what comes across as negativity, or allows others to think I am discouraged? I believe the balance is a simple one. It seems to be as simple as sharing how God got you through the ordeal even when you thought it impossible.

“Dear friends, do not be surprised at the fiery ordeal that has come on you to test you, as though something strange were happening to you. But rejoice inasmuch as you participate in the sufferings of Christ, so that you may be overjoyed when his glory is revealed.” ~1 Peter 4:12-13

I can relate to this verse as my head feels on fire 6 times a day seven days a week. I take steroids to reduce inflammation, but before they kick in, inflammation rises as they somehow feed this strange virus that is somehow related to my environmental issues.

We learned of hyperbaric oxygen chamber treatments as a way to help kill this virus and instead of the traditional $100+ cost of a session, there happens to be a doctor in podunk Rossville, GA (just 20 minutes up the road) who does them for 35 bucks. I can’t help but see God’s hand in this.

Just like how simple He made it for a hospital in Calhoun, GA to bend over backwards for us and allow the necessary bloodwork/reporting that is necessary 4 times a week right now while I am being upped to my maintenance dose of antineoplastons.

It is a tremendous amount of work for my amazing and never-stopping wife, whom my uber-talented brother even made a poster forto hang in our living room. I’m sure it will be left hung long after we depart!

He’s a graphics major with a minor in piano performance AND pre-med. Busy fellow. Listen to him broadcast at http://wsmc.org to be impressed.

God amazed all of us last week when her real estate exec assistant job offered to not only pay her hourly for what work she could fit in, but then on top of that pay for an i phone so she could work mobile whenever possible. Amazing!

AND THEN, when Logan goes to the Verizon store out of all the reps, the one helping shared how his brother in Columbia at 9 years old was miraculously healed from a brain tumor when the docs pronounced him incurable and gave him a few years to live. His family never quit praying and had faith that God could make him well.

This kind of sharp and vibrant New Testament faith strikes me with such incredible contrast to the seemingly dull and lifeless faith that so many of us Christians seem to drag around these days. Whatever happened to the very words of Jesus Christ when He said “All things are possible for him who believes!”~Mark 9:23 or

“If you abide in me, and my words abide in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you.” ~ Johny 15:7

I totally understand putting yourself completely in God’s hands and accepting WHATEVER HIS will for your life is: just read my last post, but I still think we all have this faith thing mixed up when we talk about it being God’s will for somebody to die or that it’s all part of His plan or something like that. Sure, life sucks, but it’s not God’s fault! The devil brought sin into this world and that’s why it sucks. And lets be honest, many of us (including me before cancer!!!!!!) haven’t experienced any suckiness, so why not blame God? Why even need Him?

This is why I write. This is why I hope to find that precious balance. That balance between knowing I am so INCREDIBLY fortunate compared to starving thousands in third-world countries or those persecuted for their faith in modern countries just on the other side. But this post has nothing to do where you live. It’s about who you are living for and why you are living.

These things have changed a bit for me as I’ve experienced tiptoeing much closer to what feels like the edge of  the cancer canyon, instead of watching it from behind the guardrail. I’m sure my writing style has changed a bit and this tiptoeing will be stepping on some people’s toes; However, I simply type what flows out, and you truly don’t have as much time to think when you’re still stuck on oh, oh, oh stayin alive. Stayin alive.

Major Update: Tax Deductible! You can now make tax deductible donations by sending them to the Georgia Cumberland Academy Church at 351 Academy Dr. SW Calhoun, GA 30701. If you have any questions about donating this way you can contact Nancy Gerard at 706-629-4591.

Update #2: Thank you notes are on there way! Update #3 Dalton has miniature donkeys and bulldogs!

Other Ways to Help…

1. Pray. Pray. Pray!

2. Email loganehlert@yahoo.com for and address or information on how to donate to a Harper Cancer Fund that has been set up through Bank of America. This can be done through an in-bank transfer, wire or by visiting your local Bank of America branch with the account and routing number, which she will provide. We tried to make this tax deductible but it is not possible.

3. Visit http://prayfordaniel.com and purchase “Pray for Daniel” bands through Paypal (credit cards etc). Or send as “payment owed” through Paypal to danielgharper@yahoo.com.

4. Repost this blog on your Facebook page and pass it on.

7 Responses to “Faith to Find a Balance…”

  1. Justin Banks Says:

    Daniel,
    I still think often of the opportunity I had to worship with you. Even yesterday I was on my way to University Hospital to visit my friend and choir member Bill Roberts, and past the church. Bill also has the same kind of brain tumor, and just had his second surgery to remove more and relieve pressure. I have another friend in Colorado Springs who is suffering from gall bladder cancer that has spread throughout his abdomen. (He is a believer also). Needless to say my commutes from Syracuse to Sandy have been filled with desperate prayers. God has been taking me through 2 Kings where horrible kings cry out to God for help and he answers them without them changing their ways, and for some reason I have found myself reminding God that He heard and answered their prayers so how much more should he answer our prayers. I have even cried out for Him to change His will if it is for Death. (I’ve never prayed like that before) I know it sounds like a faith crisis, but really I’m just learning to trust Him more. I “know” His ways are higher, but to really know in a way that transcends human thought and becomes supernatural faith, I have to be willing to go where He wants me to go. One of the last prayers Jesus prayed to His Father for us was that we would be in Him like He is in the Father. To be in Jesus we have to believe that He is who He said He is, and I can see that you are further down that road than I am. Having said all that, thank you. Your life has directly impacted mine in ways I can’t explain. I will accomplish more in this life because I know you. I pray strength, grace, joy and faith lift you in every moment of every day. Your Friend Justin Banks …Chris Tomlin’s “I Lift My Hands”

  2. I am a cancer survivor and I am praying for you.

  3. Your words are inspiring and Praise for our Father. It was wonderful seeing you in church Sabbath. Glad you can be closer to your family Daniel.

  4. You’re Amazing

  5. Dan,
    I feel that more than your heightened sensitivity to your physical environment is a heightened sense of your spiritual environment. Is God working more on your behalf than on others or does He work on the behalf of all but only a few, like you, take the time to sharpen their spiritual senses to take notice of His presence? Thanks for this post bro…I need to sharpen my own senses so that I can perceive God interacting with me through every day occurrences that can happen in a cell phone store. I’m praying for you bro…thanks for taking the time to hang with us over the weekend…I left inspired. Blessings!

  6. You continue to amaze me, Daniel. Keep writing. You are so right. How many of us walk around in a daze, not really acknowledging how much we need God and looking to Him instead of the Devil when things go wrong? I know I have been guilty of far too passive a stance towards God. But I understand your concern about focusing too much on yourself, and of appearing to be negative or feel sorry for yourself. I’ve had similar thoughts in my own life about much smaller affairs. But don’t worry! Your optimism and faith as you continue to fight this horrible disease have each and every one of your readers in awe–even (and maybe especially) on your “down days.” We love you, Daniel. Hang in there. God Bless.

    p.s. That picture of you and Logan by the car in front of the house? It could be in a magazine. 🙂

Leave a Reply

