Providential Tethers on Life…

I can honestly say I have no earthly clue how I’ve survived the last several weeks. I’m learning the clue isn’t necessarily an earthly one. Maybe more divine. Beyond that, tremendous family, friends, financial, and valium support is all I can come up with.

I do not have the space, nor you the interest, to try and summarize the craziness that has unfolded the last few weeks. But, regardless of what is yet to unfold, I have become completely broken. And not in the way you might think. Sure, any cancer victim suffers, but believing 100% that I would die last week broke me to a new, better quality of life. One in which the tethers to life that we all cling so desperately to have been replaced.

Anyone with assurance of eternal salvation claims they are not scared of death, but “Have the gates of death ever been shown to you?” ~ Job 38:17 . I’d never come close. A major seizure/ambulance ride/hospital night forced me to relent control to God and give up my selfish tethers for new ones.

New tethers on life does not mean any less determination, grit, or cling to this precious spark called life God plants in all of us. They simply change. They are bound less by self, and more by an obligation of love for the one giving you that second chance. Let me explain.

Two months ago I was an average brain tumor patient, receiving my chemos, great MRI reports, and sleeping peacefully in my bed at night. Since then, I’ve somehow allowed my tumor to blow up into inoperable brain areas, plus develop full on and all out “environmental disease.” I’m extremely sensitive to perfumes, dust, electronics, toxins, heat, etc. which forces me to constantly be searching for sterile environments with fresh airflow. Since so many of you have this rare problem, I’m thinking of writing a creative “best-practices handbook” for those struggling as well. I’m sure it would at least make a runner-up to the New-York Times Least Seller of the Year.

Unbeknownst to me, a providential step was taken eight months ago when I asked my landlord in Park City for a nine-month lease instead of the usual 12. As I write, church members and friends pack up our belongings for my wife and I, as her full-time job has switched from real estate assistant in Utah, to managing my intensive treatment at my parent’s house in Dalton, Ga. It is a distant, but welcome home from Salt Lake, Las Vegas, Houston, and all the uncomfortable car rides in between.

The next providential step was taken when I randomly introduced myself to a guitar player who happened to be with a group of Mormons who had rented out our church for a concert. I befriended him on Facebook and he randomly posted a GBM antineoplaston survivor success story video on my wall. I commented that I would love to go but it required about $20,000 up front plus thousands more each month.

A few weeks later, Logan received a phone call from some friends of ours who we hadn’t spoken with in almost a year. They said they felt impressed to help us get started at the clinic should the need arise. After a new MRI report in Las Vegas, I decided the need had arisen and off to Texas I went. With our incredible friend’s generous donation of $16,000 and an FDA approval letter I strapped up to my black box and have been receiving doses every four hours ever since.

During this setup process in Houston, my mom needed a sign this was all part of God’s plan. In her devotions outside of Hampton Inn one morning, she prayed very specifically that my aunt, whom she had not spoken with in a few months, would call. A half an hour later, that very aunt called! And she graciously asked what she could do, offering to pay for accommodations during our three week’s stay!

I could go on and on with dozens more stories of providential workings like these. I’ve opened a lot of cancer treatment doors myself, but this is the first I’ve had nothing to do with. Perhaps that is what’s broken me. It’s knowing God is very real and not some fairytale. That He is calling the shots. Regardless of how it all works out.

It’s knowing that the spirit of love He gave us by sending His only Son is being manifested by so many gracious friends and family around me, who are donating money, prayer and hope.

“Perseverance must finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.~ James 1:4”

“Blessed is the man who perseveres under trial, because when he has stood the test, he will receive the crown of life that God has promised to those who love him. ~James 1:12”

And so the fight continues.

We cannot thank enough all those who have graciously given in response to my last post. Here is an update.

#1. Logan has become a nurse. #2. Daniel is gaining strength every day. #3. But the doses that break down his tumor are somewhat strenuous. #4. Dalton has zebras : )

God continues to somehow provide. Here is how people have helped.

1. Pray. Pray. Pray!

2. Email loganehlert@yahoo.com for and address or information on how to donate to a Harper Cancer Fund that has been set up through Bank of America. This can be done through an in-bank transfer, wire or by visiting your local Bank of America branch with the account and routing number, which she will provide. We tried to make this tax deductible but it is not possible.

3. Visit http://prayfordaniel.com and purchase “Pray for Daniel” bands through Paypal (credit cards etc). Or send as “payment owed” through Paypal to danielgharper@yahoo.com.

8 Responses to “Providential Tethers on Life…”

  1. Tanya Musgrave Says:

    You continue to be an inspiration…I barely even know you, and your story touches me to the core. I’m praying for you guys! Keep weak 😉 He’ll be your strength.

  2. This gives me a lot to think about. Thanks. Praying for you, and welcome back to Georgia. 🙂

  3. Pam Wilferd Says:

    DANIEL & LOGAN! Prayers are said every day and every time I look at my yellow ” PRAY FOR DANIEL ” braclet. You continue to inspire and show others every day the grace of our precious Lord. It is truly his works that bring you to the place you are now. May you find peace and blessings each moment.

    Sending you love from Vegas! Pam, Terry and Ryan

  4. Don Keele Jr. Says:

    Daniel,
    I had heard that you were back in Dalton and have been thinking about stopping by, but don’t want to make things worse. So, if you wouldn’t mind a visit from an old pastor, I’d love to stop in…if not, I totally understand. Just let me know.
    PD

  5. Echoing what Tanya said . . . “His strength is perfect when our strength is gone.” What an incredible story you are writing daily with God and Logan and your family. Prayers are ascending!

  6. Teresa and Brad Hoskinson Says:

    We are praying for you, God continue to grant your strength

    Branson East SDA Church

  7. Caryn Payne Says:

    Daniel, what courage and faith – God is using you in such amazing ways. Praying for you all and your journey.

  8. Frances McCarter Says:

    I am so thankful to hear from you. It seems like forever. Blessings and praises to you, Logan and your family. God is watching over you. Welcome home.

Leave a Reply

