Weapons of war…

Flax Oil with Cottage Cheese tastes absolutely terrible. Homemade cultured vegetables are strong, but not as bad. Liquid CoQ10 tastes bad with or without Poly-MVA, but chemotherapy pills don’t taste.

Injecting homeopathic remedies into my arm doesn’t feel good, but expelling a coffee enema after retaining for 12 minutes feels great. Pureed asparagus from a can isn’t the worst, but red cabbage juice definitely is.

Drinking 100 ounces of fruit and vegetable juice every day is easy, but making that much is not.

Fighting brain cancer definitely is not easy, but no one ever said it would be. It’s war, really; you’ve got to take every weapon you can think of and throw it with everything you’ve got at your opponent. At yourself, ironically enough. Sure, I’m fighting cancer, but really I’m fighting against my own mutated cells. My own flesh and blood.

It’s funny how your war plan can change so much over the years as your knowledge of cancer and various therapies continues to change and expand. It’s mainly expanded for me because of one holistic cancer doctor that I believe God put into my life to save my life.

Instead of solely working to rid myself of cancer, he works to remove the obstacles in the way of the body’s natural healing mechanisms. He’s working to restore my immunity. “All of us have cancer cells in our bodies, but not all of us will develop cancer” – Dr. Serban-Schraiber, Anti-Cancer: A New Way of Life.

It’s also funny how the greatest physical battle I’ve ever fought in my life has opened my eyes to the greater spiritual battle that each of us must fight. I have a lot of friends who view this battle the same way I viewed cancer after my first “remission”: If I just live a good/healthy life and try to pretend this this isn’t real it will all go away and I can forget about it.

Well, I’ve got big news for them: IT DOESN’T GO AWAY. IT NEVER WILL. I’ve learned this the hard way.  I will need to do some sort of treatment for the rest of my life if I want to stay alive.

I know this because of two concrete reasons: One- The case histories of ALL glioblastoma multiforme patients I’ve ever seen. Two- I now have the most definitive proof I’ll ever get for exactly where and how I developed a brain tumor:

(1) It is highly probable that I was born with a mitochondrial DNA genetic defect (I’ll explain how I know this next weekit involves uranium mining for the Manhattan Project, Navajo Indians, and the DOE!) (2) Sometime around 2nd-4th grade a benign tumor started to grow: this was my neurosurgeon’s estimate based on the calcification and amount of benign tissue surrounding the malignant area of my original tumor. My naturopathic doctor also confirmed this with biofeedback testing.

(3) Three quarters of my way through college, three factors had a synergistic effect on my benign tumor becoming cancerous. (i) Stress of continual failure in my network marketing business, something I poured my entire life into for two years. (ii) Built up toxin levels in my body from two years of spraying pesticides and other chemical exposures while working at a greenhouse.

(iii) Spending over an hour 5 days a week on my cell-phone for a solid 1.5 years, at least. The book ‘Disconnect’ cites studies showing that cellphone radiation can break up DNA strands as well as break down the blood-brain barrier, allowing toxins in the bloodstream to enter the brain.

This is why I fight. Why my days are filled to the brim with an overwhelming checklist of necessary activities normal people would never attempt. It’s why I’m not satisfied to simply have my head cut open, take cytotoxic drugs, and think it will all work out because this is all mainstream medicine knows to do.

It deeply saddens me to know that most cancer patients will never know or believe that any other treatment besides cutting, burning, or poisoning could have helped them.  That they’ll never know why my oncologist said I’m doing much better than most of her GBM patients.

However, it saddens me more that most people I’m surrounded by don’t know or believe in any existence beyond our short lives here. It saddens me they don’t understand that all we have is today. That having brain cancer is no more deadly than the drunk driver around the corner.

That we are all smack dab in the middle of a giant controversy between good and evil. God and Satan. And it’s war. And there is no middle ground. “He who is not with me is against me, and he who does not gather with me, scatters.” Luke 11:23.

And our opponent seems to be a lot smarter than my cancerous brain cells. He’s successfully convinced most of us  that Christianity is all about being good or bad. That it’s all about what you do. Not who you know. “Thus by separating them from Christ he hopes to gain the victory” –Steps to Christ, p. 71. I’ve recently learned that It’s not about what you do, but who you know, and who you know changes what you do.

Is it possible that the reason there are two million ex-seventh-day Adventists in North America is because we’ve taught that you need to clean up your life before coming to Jesus instead of coming to Jesus and letting him clean up your life? Is it a coincidence that less than half of the one million N.A. members attend church once a month? Is it maybe because we’ve introduced people to the rules and not the Ruler?  To the facts, but not the Friend?

When fighting a war, simply showing up and singing songs once a week is not going to cut it any more than simply cutting a tumor out of my head, thinking I’ve won. And solely popping a chemotherapy pill at night is not going to get me a full life any more than solely reading a one-minute devotional each morning is going to get me eternal life.

Right now I am the closest I’ve ever come to putting my current cancer battle behind me, and it’s mainly because of one doctor. Following his advice and affording time with him is not easy, but no one ever said it would be.

And while I still tell my friends that they too are fighting a war against themselves, I am grateful to tell them that winning it doesn’t involve flax oil with cottage cheese, chemotherapy, or coffee enemas. Its as simple as getting to know THE Doctor and letting Him help you win the war.

8 Responses to “Weapons of war…”

  1. logan Harper Says:

    Wow what a great post. You tied in everything so well and what a point you made. Great Job!

  2. Christina Chau Says:

    What a good post, Daniel! I love your analogy – everything you said is so true. Love you and Logan. Don’t love the fact that you are still battling this. But you encourage me everyday.

  3. Wow. What a post. It’s entirely solid. Keep fighting. I’m praying. Merry Christmas to you both.

  4. Again, very well said. You blog provides a lot of thinking points that help me with my ongoing struggle to keep myself ‘in check” with the person I am vs. who I want to be. Thanks for taking the time to update. I’m praying for you and your wife and family every day.

  5. Dan I believe you have developed into one of the most deep people that I know. Thanks, as always, for sharing your thought process with us. I am really interested in hearing about the history that you’ve learned of late. Since you posted that article I read a few others…I also have a friend who has spent a ton of time working on Navajo Reservations and is about to go back after finishing his masters…he had some interesting thoughts on it as well. Anyways, keep fighting bro! We’re praying for you guys!

  6. Daniel, I think you are writing a book chapter by chapter here. Great analogies, put together very well. You have a gift, and I’m so glad you are using it reach out to others. Keep the fight. We love you heaps!!!

  7. I really like that Daniel! I was having a conversation the other day with someone I have known for years about Jesus and how our lives should be lived getting to know him better instead of making ourselves “better” I am positive that they still think I am a quack and that I should not be an SDA pastor for my heretical beliefs… I feel that you have nailed it on the head and I will be sending them a link to your blog as soon as I finish posting this.

    Have a Merry Christmas!

  8. You did a great job and telling the story of the fight against cancer. My husband has been fighting lung ca that has mets to his bones and brain. He’s still going strong though. I will be praying for you- stay strong and keep a positive attitude. I think that the ‘mind’ plays the biggest role in this fight.

Leave a Reply

