Man gets mauled: its not funny…

I think I have a messed up sense of humor. While driving over Parley’s Summit on the way home to Park City, I see this out my rearview mirror.

These images are a poor representation of the smoke/steam that was tailgating my car up the mountain.

I should have paid attention to my first clue, 8 hours earlier, when my gasoline quit working on the way down the hill. After she died we found ourselves sitting about 3 feet from the 40-50 ton semi trucks that where whizzing by at incredible speeds. Lucky us. As smoke poured from the hood and my wife finished her call to AAA, we couldn’t help but stare at each other and start laughing. “Babe, we’re doing great!” I said. “We’re down to one car, I’ve got the worst kind of brain cancer there is, we’re flat broke, and no matter how hard we try, we can’t accomplish anything for God!”

My confirmation of a screwed up sense of humor happened yesterday as Logan was watching The Today Show while getting ready for work. Some poor guy was mauled by a bear and was fortunate enough to live through it.

I couldn’t help but crack up when I saw him. I guess he just looked funny. Something about him reminded me of one the characters on this show I used to watch (though it was probably a subconscious association due to the source of his wounds).

Or maybe it was one of the dwarfs on Snow White. I don’t know…either way, its kinda messed up that I laugh at the poor guy. So I started thinking about myself, and I got to wondering, What kind of messed-up person laughs at nudity, polygamy, graphic violence, walmart rednecks, getting run over by a car, fat people, jobless losers, and poor people????? What kind of blog is this?

Am I sick and twisted because I’m amused by demotivational  posters?

Or racist because I laugh at families that grew up a little differently than me?

I’d say probably not, because I’m sure plenty of people laughed at me when I grew a stupid beard to cover up my chemo-head, or when I looked like a girl with bad acne.

Normal people laugh at e-mail forwards. Like the ones with the cute little kittens sitting in  toy cars with baby chickens, or squirrels waterskiing. Normal people enjoy those cheesy powerpoint forwards with the soft music, beautiful backgrounds, and wonderful messages about love, grace, or a woman’s inner beauty. They like pictures with funny answers that kids put on tests

Forwards like “Why Teachers Drink…”

That is what normal people like. And while writing all this nonsense has done nothing to help me figure out why I have a messed up sense of humor or how to get past it,  I can at least admit to it now. That’s the first step in moving on, I think…not sure, though.

Fortunately for me, I “don’t serve a God who is unable to sympathize with our weaknesses. Instead we have one who has been tempted in every way we are, yet got through it blameless.” That’s the DV of Hebrews 4:15.

The DV from Isaiah 56:3-5 says, “A eunich might complain that ‘I am only a dry tree.’ However, the Lord says that if a Eunich will keep my Sabbaths, choose what pleases me, and simply hang on to my promises, I will give them honor in Heaven.”

Now, even though my chemotherapy has probably made me a eunich, I’m not official like those poor dudes in Isaiah.  Thank goodness that “It is not the healthy who need a doctor, but the sick. I have not come to call the righteous, but sinners.” Mark 2:17

I’m thankful to have learned that I’m accepted. Even when I stubbornly refuse my wife’s good advice and argue about it. Even when I feel like I’m accomplishing nothing. Especially when I’m cruel enough to laugh at someone’s misfortune, I’m accepted. I can’t flunk the test. All I have to do is admit I’m wrong and that I don’t know the answers. All I have to do is accept the acceptance.

*Editor’s note: DV is a version of the bible that is an ‘author’s translation’ although we are not sure what DV stands for. And I’m not actually flat broke.*

One Response to “Man gets mauled: its not funny…”

  1. Hello, I happen to think your blog and your perspective ROCKS! My mom is a GBM survivor too, by the way. I totally get where you are coming from with what some may think are far out blog posts! And I am originally from KY, so I totally get the Dollar Store experience.

Leave a Reply

