Almost made husband of the year…

Last night we went grocery shopping, and as always, I was a pill. My definition of balance between saving money and getting all the the food, herbs, and juicing supplies necessary for cancer fighting is slightly different than my wife’s. I feel bad that I make her take me shopping.

My cousin Kristine told me in high-school I was no fun to shop with, and I don’t think it’s changed much since.

She might have said this because of my hair, as I do recall going to the mall a few times to show off the hour I’d spent applying hair glue and special technique.

Driving from Park City to Salt Lake, and then all over town to hit up Good Earth, Costco, and Wal-Mart doesn’t help either, especially when its a 6 to 10 pm affair after a full day. Needless to say, by the time we got home and solved the puzzle of fitting all the vegetables and fruit in the fridge, I hadn’t earned any brownie points. While we both apologized later that night, I don’t feel quite as bad today for giving her a terrible evening.

Why today you may ask? Because today is the first day of fall! And that means HUSBAND OF THE YEAR awards! Here is the 2010 winner-

He may have won this year, but I think this next gentleman has one up on him when it comes to gentleman boating status:

And some of the year’s previous winners are equally fantastic in the level of quality they treat their wives with:

I feel a bit like this guy sometimes when I talk on the phone with my sister: “Hey Daniel! What are you doing today?” “Not much. Same thing I do every day Pinky, try to take over the world.” “Funny, what are you really doing?” “No really, same thing I do every day, try to take over my brain, narf!” PS – If you were not alive from 1995 to 2001 and have no idea what the heck I’m talking about, that’s fine by me.

You see, my wonderful wife Logan works 8 hours every day as an executive assistant for the CEO of a real estate company here in Park City, Keller Williams. I, on the other hand, could be considered a domestic engineer (isn’t that what they call it these days?), kinda like a stay-at-home dad…except we don’t have any kids…or pets.

While I don’t watch Animaniacs all day (or really any TV),  I still sometimes feel like she’s taking the unfair share of the burden.

However, that’s not to say I’m not busy each day. There’s a few activities I complete each day while she’s at work: 1 coffee enema, make four 20-25 ounce fruit/vegetable juices, 3-4 herbal teas, three cups of water w/ 15-drops heavy metal chelator,  take 25 various capsules (up to 50 when I’m doing a specific cleanse), 2 anti-seizure pills, around 275 drops of over fourteen homeopathic remedies, vitamins, and essential oils (which I have to put in capsules), crack open/eat 3 shelled brazil nuts, take 1 packet of chlorella, 1 Tbsp of Alkala in boiling water, and these items are split up throughout the day so as to maximize potency. This doesn’t include the 3 shots and 1 suppository I give myself  once a week, or the trip to Las Vegas for my Avastin infusion every 3 weeks.

At least I don’t have to get there the same way these Serbian ladies get hauled around by their Husband Of The Year. I’m blessed to have a wonderfully supportive family, mother-in-law, and church who have tremendously helped us out with affording these trips and supplementation to traditional medicine. I know many medical folk scoff at my naturalistic efforts to keep this cancer at bay. My oncologist thinks its the reasons my platelet and white blood cell count is so low, but I’m not about to quit doing all my stuff. After all, I truly feel God’s led me to this route: I’m still here and doing great 3.5 years after my initial diagnosis. I thank God for this accomplishment, and you would too if you read this wonderfully positive article on glioblastoma multiforme. Just click here and read the 3rd paragraph.

My situation may not exactly be putting Logan in the same shoes as this rain-soaked, carton-handler of a wife, but I don’t think she would care even if it was. The only unfair burden I give her are the times we let this stupid disease scare the heck out of us.

And while I may be tempted to think that my wife is the greatest gift God has given me, I’m not that ignorant. While she is an amazing blessing and one of the main reasons I’m doing so well, God’s personally given me a greater gift. I’m pretty darn share I’ve committed countless crimes against plenty of people, which makes me the greatest sinner of all and worthy of death. Romans 6:23 told me so. Fortunately the verse doesn’t end there.

It ends by telling me that even though I’m worthy of an eternal death, I’m eligible to receive eternal life by simply accepting God’s gift: giving up His son to live a life of poverty, rejection, and suffering, which not only covers my mistakes , but yours too! This is a far greater gift than anything my wife could EVER do for me!

I hate to be so blunt, but lets face what no one likes to think about: we’re all gonna die someday soon enough, and eternity comes next. Fortunately we can choose whatever we want, which in my book, makes Jesus Christ my pick for the 2010 Husband Of The Year.

*Editor’s note: I am fully aware that tomorrow is the first day of fall, not today, and also that the beginning of  fall has NOTHING to do with a made-up award found online, but were you????


2 Responses to “Almost made husband of the year…”

  1. Hi Daniel,
    Great blog. You are blessed to have such a wonderful wife. I just want you to know that you are in my frequent prayers and I am thankful for what God is doing in your life. (seems I had a similar experience in 2000 when Dave got sick and could have died… PTL he didn’t !)
    Keep walking with Jesus, I have found HIM to be a forever friend!!!
    Love, Jane 🙂

  2. Dan! Awesome blog man. I really appreciate what you said. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

