Why can’t I sing like Justin Bieber?

Before going any farther, please watch the following…

I look at this and ask myself how these kids ever got to this point. They’re really livin’ it. Fo real, yo. I also wonder what the target audience is for this sort of thing.  If you are a 13 year-old, and you are reading this right now, please get back to me.  Is this entertaining for you? I know this kid is talented, but is America really interested in him enough to have him play on NBC in New York for Today? I don’t think Today is geared towards your average 10-year old.

I enjoyed the music video above for it’s high-quality, but I think this kid is way more talented…(and you really, really, really have to watch this- it blew me away)

Pretty Crazy, huh?!? I think Justin Beiber is 15 or something like that, and this dude is 12! Man, to think of the potential if I had been able to do that in sixth grade! I was too busy wearing size men’s L quicksilver shirts, and keeping dirt off my new etnies to worry about Lady Gaga. Anyone remember JNCOs? Wow, I feel old… But yeah, it was all about being cool, or becoming cool…Let me show you my progression of coolness…

As you can clearly see, Jaden Smith has got one up on me. Or maybe two or three…

Anyways, it seems as if America has always found interest in the dancing, singing, stylish, “haven’t hit puberty yet” sort of kid.The good news, ladies, is that these young men have changed a bit in the past few years.The only conclusion I can come is that we’re a bit jealous, maybe. I have to admit, Justin and Jaden look pretty cool doing all those sweet dance moves in the recording studio. Kinda makes me wish I was there with them, working on my own electric slide…

My first thought when I considered what role God plays in young Bieber’s life, was the possibility that Justin is the poster child for what all 13-year old’s in Heaven will be like: Perfectly manicured hair (layered, of course, with 1.5 cm over the eyes), angelic voice, ghetto-fabulous dance moves, and a huge fan club (the angels, of course). That was only my first thought. I let it go a few seconds after letting it sizzle around in my head.

But I do think I was on to something, however slight it might have been. While we may not look like Justin Bieber, I did read in the bible that we’ll be given new bodies in Heaven.

There are heavenly bodies and earthly bodies, but the glory of the heavenly is of one kind, and the glory of the earthly is of another.” 1 Corinthians 15:40

“Beloved, we are God’s children now, and what we will be has not yet appeared; but we know that when he appears we shall be like him, because we shall see him as he is.” 1 John 3:2

And that makes me happy, to tell you the truth. Happy that Heaven won’t be like this…So keep getting those haircuts, keep on taking voice lessons, try to pick out the right clothes, and most importantly, make time for the new “Karate Kid” movie, in between your Bieber, Miley, or Duff concerts/music videos/Disney channel originals. And if that gets old, and you find yourself attracting the wrong type of fans, feel free to pray that God comes sooner so we can get out of here and get to a place where we can all sing like Justin.

One Response to “Why can’t I sing like Justin Bieber?”

  1. Lol, really? REALLY?? I could dig the grown-up Hanson, but the blubber-man?? Lol joking aside, good thoughts. I concur.

Leave a Reply

