Bikes, bulls, and badditudes…

What do bikes, bulls, badditudes, and gladditudes have in common? Maybe the fact that you’ve only heard of two of these words before? What do you call a cow that has a loud ticking sound coming from it? Abominable. Ha. Ha. Lame. I know.

Did that look painful to you? Have you ever been in that kid’s shoes before? I sure have…to a lesser extent anyways…

Now that looks slightly more painful to me. What do you think was going through his mind? I don’t think I want to know…If its that painful to just look at the picture, I can’t imagine what he’ll be going through after the adrenaline wears off. And before the drugs they’ll give him kick in.

I dislocated my hip wakeboarding when I was 16. It was hands down the most painful thing I’ve ever experienced and will ever experience. I haven’t had a baby, but I imagine it was a bit like doing that without an epidural. It felt like someone had taken scissors to the big red chord that connects your leg to your groin. (I have no idea if the chord that connects your leg to your groin is red, but it sounded better)


Now this, on the other hand, looks like it really had to suck. Bad. Don’t you hate it when you get run over by a car? Its even worse when it happens after you fall off your bike.

Now, back to those new words. I don’t know about you, but I’d say that the both the bull and that poor guy have a badditude. No wait. I take it back. Correction. I’d say the angry bull has a badditude, and the skinny guy, while worried, definitely has a gladditude. “Why do you say that”, you may ask? Its quite simple really. Everyone knows that bulls can’t swim very fast. Look at the picture one more time. It’s clearly obvious that our unfortunate friend is experiencing a miracle. Peter is plainly not the only one who can walk on water.

People always say you can do incredible things when filled with adrenaline. Then they proceed to give you some examples. Like the guy who was being chased by a rhinoceros in Africa, and he jumped 23 feet straight up, to escape in a tree!  Sounds impressive! But not as cool as walking on water. I don’t think Jesus ever helped someone jump 23 feet straight up in the bible. But he did help Peter.

And he can help you. Help you turn a badditude into a gladditude. I’m constantly amazed at how angry people are. I post comments on skateboarding forums with a reference to my blog, and a typical reply is ‘Shut the f*#@ up and go skate, you loser”. I get honked at all the time in Park City because I didn’t make that left turn quite as fast as some might think possible.  I’ve witnessed one too many arguments filled with profanities between bosses and coworkers. Yeah, timeshare is a pretty secular place to work in, but still…

Your attitude should be the same as that of Christ Jesus” Philippians 2:5

“The Lord is joyful and compassionate; slow to anger and rich in love” Psalms 145:8

Just think about it, okay? Do people really think you’re cool when you’re mad, negative, or complaining all the time? Or do they think you are the idiot? Hmmmmm….Which way of life would you say is more fulfilling?

*(editors note) I’m pretty sure that was a baby rhinoceros, which would probably rather be petted than charge anyone

Leave a Reply

