2010 Four Square World Championships…

“I don’t know why, but I HATE four-square! I think its the stupidest game ever! People think it’s sooooo cool, but I just don’t like it. Now kickball on the other hand….” My wife said these exact words after I told her how great the following clip is. Before reading any further, I need you to watch this 30 second clip from the men’s finals at the 2010 Four Square World Championships.

Watch 30-second Championship Clip Here

The video you just saw was the sixth annual worlds and it is held each year in Bridgton, Maine. You can read about it at squarefour.org/worldchamps. While you are there, you can also cruise around on the site, and checkout fantastic news reports. My personal favorite was the report on how the mayor of Cambridge, MA (part of Boston) came out to a recent four-square game to congratulate Christian Housh on earning his recent title of Men’s Four Square World Champion.

You da man Christian! Big win! You can also read about (and I quote) “Christina, one of the women of the local Boston four square scene. She plays hard and is not afraid of bouncing off the floor for a good play.”

Now, while I have nowhere near the abilities of Dean Sean here, I feel fairly confident in my abilities if I find myself in an aggressive pick-up game of 4-[].

So this afternoon, when all of us were playing four-square at the Linares’ home, I wished I had known about Dean Sean’s fantastic moves. We have fun, but probably not as much fun as Dean Sean has when he plays four-square. While we do allow children to play with us on occasion, the game’s aggressive nature keeps it mainly confined to adults. The King can make it very difficult by making up new rules for each round. These vary from “name a type of fish” or “do a disco maneuver after you hit the ball,” to  “only your stomach this round!” Sometimes it gets a little too competitive and feelings are unfortunately hurt. Luckily, no one got seriously injured today, so its all good! Let me reveal just a few of the most talented players (potential World’s Champions of 2011???)

In Zedekiah 4:4 it says “Thou shall not play four-square on the Sabbath.”

Okay, totally J/K – I don’t think the bible says much about four-square, so please don’t send me threatening e-mails. I’ve got plenty of those already…lol. However, the bible does talk about the importance of fellowship and spending time with other people, believers or not. Ephesians 2:19 says “You are all no longer foreigners and aliens, but fellow citizens with God’s people and members of God’s household.” The early Christians hung out together all the time and a great example is found in Acts: 12:12, “…where many people had gathered and were praying in between four-square rounds.” *The un-italicized words are from the NKD version.

I think God created facebook and fellowship with others for a very specific reason. If we look at Jesus’ example, he did exactly that – hung out with people and met their needs. It was only after doing that, would He share their need for a Savior. Jesus was a pretty friendly person, and I think many of us are too caught up in our little cliques to follow His example. Forgot about having perfect friends who are just like you! Jesus hung out with everybody! Prostitutes, losers, and IRS guys included!

These are lyrics from Casting Crown’s “If We Are the Body” song. Please listen to it when you have time.

But if we are the Body
Why aren’t His arms reaching
Why aren’t His hands healing
Why aren’t His words teaching
And if we are the Body
Why aren’t His feet going
Why is His love not showing them there is a way
There is a way

2 Responses to “2010 Four Square World Championships…”

  1. Travis V. Says:

    I like the post. I’m now famous for my mad four square skills. So look out Dean Sean, who ever you are, i will rule the four square court. That was a fun time playing four square. Great descriptions of the characters above.

    Good times!

  2. I’m the Sean you mentioned. The title is “Dear Sean” which is the title of my four square advice blog. Check it out, and look into some last minute tickets to the world championships on Feb 26, 2011. Hope to see you there.

Leave a Reply

