Spearhead, a bible study, and marriage-awana…

So tonight I went to an epic show. A show I’ll never forget. It was a concert that many would dream of attending, but I was somehow the lucky character who got to attend instead of you.

It all started around 2:00 this afternoon, when I got a phone call from Richie. “Hey man, this is totally last minute, but you want to go to this show with me tonight? I have two free tickets.”

I started to make up an excuse, because I had already told another friend Logan and I would attend her bible study at 8:00. But then I was told the show started at 6:00. “I probably can’t stay for the whole thing, but who is playing?” You’ll never believe what he said – that’s right – none other than –

I immediately said I’d go. Are you kidding me? This guy is huge! I’ve dreamed my whole life about seeing Michael Franti & Spearhead in concert? Haven’t you? I wouldn’t miss it for the world.

Yeeaaahhhhh……actually, none of that is true. I just made that up so you guys wouldn’t think I’m an idiot.  I’d actually never heard of Michael Franti. I was like “Michael who? Spear what? What type of music do they play?”……….”Kinda like Matisyahu?”………..”Okay, sounds good, I’m in”……….

Just four hours later I found myself outside some building at the U of UT, surrounded by a few thousand college kids and some other old people like myself. I pondered the effects of second-hand marriage-awana as fumes rose around me, and I concluded it wasn’t nearly as bad as the second-hand cigarette  smoke I also had the pleasure of consuming.  The Blue Scholars (shown below) kept it real and gave me a great opportunity to evaluate my feelings on “intelligent hip-hop.”

I found their raps to be entertaining and even enjoyed their song about the future, with music conveniently stolen from Owl City’s “fireflies.”

Next up was Rogue Wave. Hailing from Oakland, CA, they impressed us all with their original sound. It was kind of a ‘Modest Mouse meets The Killers meets Coldplay meets Death Cab for a Cutie.’ Nice and original.

They also apparently change band members fairly often. It looks like they’ve replaced the Asian woman in this picture with a bearded synthesizer player and a cool skinny guy in his 40s who plays guitar like he’s from the 90s.

Finally they finished. The roadies came out and all 2 or 3 thousand of us proceeded to sit through what became the longest “next band set-up” I’ve ever sat through. So long in fact, that I couldn’t take it any more. So I left. That’s right. You heard me. I left.  I was really hoping to at least see Mr. Franti and this Spearhead band of his play one song, but it was not to be. The sun was getting closer to setting so I knew I was already late to Joycelin’s bible study. As I left, I figured it wasn’t that big of a deal. After all, I’d never even heard of the guy! Its not like he’s famous or anything, right? Come on! So he’s playing to a few thousand college kids, no biggie! Its not like he regularly plays shows to 50,000 people at massive festivals, right? Its not like he tours with John Mayer or anything like that. Cuz if he did, then I might feel a little dumb.

I found out later that Mr. Franti   usually  plays to much larger audiences who pay much more than I paid to get into the show. And it is possible he toured with John Mayer, but you’ll have to look it up yourself. If its any consolation to you, I had a blast with our friends at Joycelin’s bible study and I got a lot out of it.

Have you guys ever had something like this happen to you? Like you went to something for a specific reason but never found that reason or got anything out of it?  Like you went to a Michael Franti and Spearhead concert, but you never saw Michael Franti or Spearhead? That’s probably a kind of dumb question to ask people. I’m sure less than 75% of you have ever been to a Franti show and left before Franti came on, so its not a relevant question. However, this sort of thing happens to me all the time. It usually involves something other than a concert, though. I’ll sit down to pray, and find myself falling in and out of sleep instead. Or I’ll sit down to eat dinner with my wife and find a laptop with things that need to be done, magically appearing next to my plate. The most common example I think we can all relate to, however, is church.

Isn’t the whole reason we go to worship God and learn more about life in Him? How many times do we leave with no worship experience to think of, and we can’t even remember a single point from the sermon? I used to feel like an idiot when someone would ask me on Sabbath afternoon what the preacher spoke on, and I couldn’t remember.

If you are going to church at any point this weekend, I invite you to try something new. Pray beforehand that God will show you the true meaning of worship, and then make a plan for applying whatever the preacher spoke on to your next week. If you weren’t planning on attending church this weekend, maybe give it a shot. It can’t hurt, and you might meet some new people, if nothing else. What the heck, right? Just some thoughts to think on. Whatever you end up doing, try to actually accomplish what you set out to do. Don’t go to a Spearhead concert without actually sticking around to see Spearhead.

Leave a Reply

