You + Love = Sunshine…

Are you my friend on facebook? Would you like to be? Would you rather we weren’t friends? Can you spot your profile picture in the images above? Are you having trouble finding yours? Do you wish your picture wasn’t used in the collage above? Am I even allowed to steal your facebook  picture and post it on the dangerous world wide web? Isn’t your facebook picture already on facebook, which means it is already on the dangerous world wide web?

C.S. Lewis once said, “I don’t believe one can settle how much we ought to give. I’m afraid that the only safe rule is to give more than we can spare. In other words, if our expenditures on comforts, luxuries, amusements, etc. are standard with other people who are in the same income bracket as us, we are probably giving away too little.”

Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn, a Nobel laureate and Soviet Siberian prison survivor said, “Do not pursue what is illusory. . .It is enough if you don’t freeze in the cold and if thirst and hunger don’t claw at your insides. If your back isn’t broken, if your feet can walk and your arms can bend, if both eyes can see, if both ears can hear, them whom should you envy?”

Even Paul said, “I’ve learned the secret of being happy, when I have enough to eat and when I go hungry, when I have more than I need and when I do not have enough. I can do all things through Christ, because He gives me strength” (Philippians 4:11-13).

I think Augustine, a Christian theologian and scholar, most aptly summed this all up, “Find out how much God has given you and from it take what you need; the remainder is needed by others.” Once we are filled with the love of God, we can spread that same love and give our time and resources to others. I can’t even describe the smiles and thank-you’s that I’ve witnessed while on various mission trips. I know some of you have recently witnessed the same thing. Just ask Levi New or Tawnya Constantino about their experiences in Haiti. Ask Pastor Don Keele about his mission trips to the Appalachian mountains in Kentucky. Ask Kristi Olson or Katrina Maxwell what Africa was like.

All of us, the whole team + God’s love in our lives = A difference in the lives of others.

You and I + God’s love = Smiles and Sunny days

You + Love = Sunshine

One Response to “You + Love = Sunshine…”

  1. […] Find out by reading the full post HERE. […]

Leave a Reply

